Creating Art with Words

Story writing can prove to be easy, or one of the more difficult tasks anyone could ever tackle. Almost always, a hefty amount of emotion is invested in a story, so when it comes time to look back and edit it, it’s often much harder to do so than writing the actual story. In fact, editing any sort of writing often proves to be much more intensive, as it’s often toilsome for the writer to edit their own works, since they’re already attached to their works, tearing apart their work to refine it can become a disillusion for the writer. They believe that their work needs little to no editing, though the public eye may think otherwise, or especially a trained eye. When someone has the job of editing material, they enter the writer’s material without having an idea what the writer felt, thought, or meant to say in their writing. This disconnect allows the editor to see the material without any bias towards it, making the main task, to find ALL the errors, much easier. Once the editor finishes their work, it’s sent back to the writer, and eight times out of ten, it’s not a pretty sight. Discouragement often follows, along with doubt, which makes it rather difficult, for one who finds writing a leisure-some activity, to continue on.

People will tell me, when the subject of writing comes up, that they like writing and do some time to time, and when I ask what sort of writing, common response is “Oh, just story writing, hopefully, I’ll finish my story and publish it one day”. To me, it seems like an accomplishment to most people to even begin writing a story, but I wonder how much of what they’re telling me is in vain, or something they are truly passionate about. In the same realm, learning a new instrument can be seen the same the way. It’s usually with guitar or piano, and occasionally, that wild soul chooses bass. “Oh, I’m just learning a few chords, some little melodies, really I just wanted to play this song I heard on the radio”, luckily for these individuals, songs on the radio usually have the same chord progressions, once you learn those progressions, you’ve learned about 3/4 of all songs recorded in the past decade. My point here is, is that people like to think they’re accomplishing something big, but really, they’re only following the same progression that most folks in our time follow. Which, how many tasks can I complete and show all my friends. With how fast technology is improving, it becomes a niche to learn just about any sort of skill. But where is the passion? Is it in learning the actual skill, or just being able to learn a multitude of skills? Perhaps in some cases, it could be both!

The reason I hit on the idea of passion, is because, passion tends to be the driving force for people when it comes to continuing on with furthering a skill, and I know what it’s like to have a drive for things, and still continue with them even after the fun has stopped. Learning the basics isn’t always enough, it’s actually learning all aspects of the skill to wear it has shaped you that I believe truly counts. I have seen people be so enticed with excitement to want to learn a new skill, such as writing, music, dance, coding, etc., and after a month or two, I see their ambition dwindle down to nothing, and I’m left to wondering why.

Generally, what the loss of interest comes down, too, is that when the task of learning the skill pushes the learner out of their comfort zone, and that’s where their true passion shows. This isn’t a bad thing, but rather, a realization for the learner, a marker, to which they’re free to choose whether or not to continue. Perhaps this is the best part of the whole learning process as well; in my case, music was my passion, still is, and I learned that my passion for it would end up what drove me past the grittier parts of becoming a musician. Coming out of the storm of countless hours of practicing, it wasn’t till I got to put my skill into play, such as a concert, or at an adjudication, where my skill level determined my letter grade for my lessons, where I saw all the work I had put into my skill. This is what kept me going. To backtrack a bit, I am currently a student at Central Washington University where I am working towards my B.A. in Music. I have another two years to go, therefore, my struggles aren’t quite over, in fact, they have only just begun.

With my passion for music, I wanted to see what it would take to push my passion for writing to a new level, where I am saying “Yeah, I have a novel out, and now I’m working on the next one, and currently have plans for a third one!”, instead of saying “Well, I mean, I started my story, but I just haven’t had much urge to continue it on a daily basis”. To me, writing is difficult, a breeze, agonizing, adventurous, tedious, blood pumping, surreal, boring, dull, hopeless, and sometimes, it’s why I wake up in the morning. Whatever it may be, it is for sure what I want to continue working, perhaps up until the later years in my life, I’ll cross that bridge when I get there.

Thanks for reading, and have a fantastic day!

Leave a Reply

