The most fun you can have with the whole family.

Vulfpeck’s Hill Climber

After listening to Vulfpeck’s Hill Climber, I knew no band has made me head bang as much as this funky motley crew of cats! I should make a little graphic with a meter on it gauging the groovy-ness of this band just to show you what I mean. Well, someday I might do just that, but for today, I’ll settle with writing about it.

Vulfpeck is the band, and their mission: dig a pocket so deep, you’ll be feeling the heat of the earth’s core. This group’s pocket is so tight, deep, and lit, it’s mighty sinful how super it is. Think about a rhythm section dream team, but as an actual band. I couldn’t believe it myself when I found this group’s music. It is an honest, inclusive, and perfect picture of a solid funk/jazz band. And it doesn’t stop with their musical talents, they got some nifty YouTube videos worth checking out. Truthfully, I only found this group because of their video compilation, “It Gets Funkier, but every time it gets funkier, it gets funkier.” I watched it from start to finish and binged watched the rest of their content. It’s crazy good, check it out. 

Following ahead of the beat, “Hill Climber,” is Vulfpeck’s newest jam, and it has me jumpin’ and jivin’ like no other. If you need a visualization of what might be up to when recording such a hip record, here’s an idea:

It’s similar to Whiplash, but not so angry or depressing, and definitely funkier.

I’ll start with my personal fave, “Disco Ulysses (instrumental).” The funny thing here is that I have not heard or seen a recording with vocals, making me think we have a pleasant surprise in store for a version with vocal. Besides the point, I’ve been dancing non-stop, replaying Dean Dart’s Chic-style bass-line. It sounds so much like a blast from the past, as I feel my hair poof out and my feet start tapping.

The biggest hits from this record, though, are the funkish-pop “Half of The Way,” quirky and bumpin’ “Darwin Derby” and the cheeky, yet humble “Lonely Town.” And for the hardcore cats that have been following the gang, Vulfpeck has brought the “It Gets Funkier” Saga to its fourth installment, featuring the one and only, Louis Cole.

If you know what’s right, then you’d dive into this awesome record and soak in it’s goodness. Check out the album from these links:

Vulfpeck’s site: https://vulfpeck.com/
Bandcamp page: https://vulfpeck.bandcamp.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.